Editing the Fault Domain for an Instance

You can change the fault domain where a virtual machine (VM) instance is placed.

A fault domain is a grouping of hardware and infrastructure that is distinct from other fault domains in the same availability domain. By properly leveraging fault domains you can increase the availability of applications running on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. For more information and best practices, see Fault Domains.

Supported Shapes

You can change the fault domain for instances that use these shapes:

  • VM.Standard1 series
  • VM.Standard.B1 series
  • VM.Standard2 series
  • VM.Standard3.Flex
  • VM.Standard.E2 series
  • VM.Standard.E3.Flex
  • VM.Standard.E4.Flex
  • VM.GPU3 series
  • VM.GPU.GU1 (VM.GPU.A10) series
  • VM.Optimized3.Flex

These shapes cannot be edited:

  • VM.Standard.E2.1.Micro
  • VM.GPU2 series
  • VM.DenseIO1 series
  • VM.DenseIO2 series
  • VM.DenseIO.E4.Flex
  • VM instances that run on dedicated virtual machine hosts
  • Bare metal shapes

Required IAM Policy

To use Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, you must be granted security access in a policy  by an administrator. This access is required whether you're using the Console or the REST API with an SDK, CLI, or other tool. If you get a message that you don’t have permission or are unauthorized, verify with your administrator what type of access you have and which compartment  to work in.

For administrators: The policy in Let users launch compute instances includes the ability to change the fault domain for an instance. If the specified group doesn't need to launch instances or attach volumes, you could simplify that policy to include only manage instance-family, and remove the statements involving volume-family and virtual-network-family.

If you're new to policies, see Getting Started with Policies and Common Policies. For reference material about writing policies for instances, cloud networks, or other Core Services API resources, see Details for the Core Services.

Using the Console

  1. Open the navigation menu and click Compute. Under Compute, click Instances.
  2. Click the instance that you're interested in.
  3. Click More Actions, and then click Edit.
  4. Click Edit fault domain. Then, select a new fault domain.
  5. Click Save changes.

    If the instance is running, it is rebooted. Confirm when prompted.